Falcon Hockey Roster Released for ’14-’15 Campaign

By August 13, 2014 Other News

The Bowling Green Falcon hockey team will see 17 players return to the ice this season while welcoming nine new faces.

Coach Bergeron will see three of his top five offensive producers return as Dan DeSalvo (7-25-32), Mark Cooper (14-10-24), and Adam Berkle (10-11-21) will be expected to put up big numbers for the upcoming season. On the defensive side of the ice the Falcons welcome back their best +/- player in Rusty Hafner (+14) along with the aforementioned Berkle (+13) and Cooper (+12)

But, the Falcons will need to find replacements for some of the prime talent that have either graduated or left the program early. Ryan Carpenter (8-8-16) graduated early and signed with the San Jose Sharks organization. Marcus Perrier(2-8-10), and Ralfs Freibergs (3-19-22) left school early to persue professional opportunities, with Freibergs signing with the Winipeg Jets organization. Bryce Williamson (12-16-28), who was the Falcon’s top offensive threat, along with Cam Wojtala (4-9-13), Jake Sloat (0-2-2), Chad Sumsion (1-1-2), Brett Mohler (1-1-2), Andrew Wallace (1-2-3), Scott Zacharias, and Ryan Viselli graduated this past season.

Despite nine new players Coach Bergeron is expected to have his deepest team yet. The rookie class is headlined by defenseman Mark Friedman who should see plenty of ice time for the brown and orange. The Toronto native was drafted in this year’s NHL Entry Draft in the third round by the Philadelphia Flyers. Bowling Green will also welcome Mitchell McClain, Tyler Spezia, Nolan Valleau, Jakob Reichert, Brandon Hawkins, Brett D’Andrea, Ben Greiner, Braden Pears, and Austin Carroll. Chris Nell will likely start the season as the Falcon’s third goalie.

The Falcons will play an exhibition game on 10/4/14 against Simon Fraser before opening their season on 10/10/14 against the Miami RedHawks. You can view the rest of the Falcons 2014-2015 schedule here.

2014-2015 Bowling Green Falcon Hockey Roster

2Pierre-Luc MercierForwardSophomore
3Connor KuceraDefensemanSenior
4Mike SullivanDefensemanSenior
5Rusty HafnerDefensemanSenior
6Mitchell McLainForwardFreshman
7Tyler SpeziaForwardFreshman
8Jose DelgadilloDefensemanJunior
10Kevin DufourForwardSophomore
11Dan DeSalvo (C)ForwardSenior
12Nolan ValleauDefensemanFreshman
13Adam Berkle (A)ForwardSenior
14Mark FriedmanForwardFreshman
15Jakob ReichertForwardFreshman
16Brandon HawkinsForwardFreshman
17Ben MurphyForwardJunior
18Brett D'AndreaForwardFreshman
20Matt PohlkampForwardSophomore
21Ted PletschForwardSenior
22Braden PearsDefensemanFreshman
23Brent TateForwardJunior
24Ben GreinerForwardFreshman
25Dajon MingoDefensemanJunior (RS)
26Mark Cooper (A)ForwardSenior
27Austin CarrollDefensemanFreshman
28Sean WalkerDefensemanSophomore
31Tommy BurkeGoaltenderJunior
32Tomas ShollGoaltenderSophomore
33Chris NellGoaltenderFreshman
Drew Evans

About Drew Evans

Drew is a co-founder and the editor for BGSUHockey.com. When he's not in the press box he makes (legal) drugs at a northwest Ohio compounding pharmacy. Drew is entering his eighth season covering Falcon hockey and has been a fan of the program since his time as a student beginning in 2003. He can be reached on Twitter @BGSUHockeySite and by e-mail at Drew@bgsuhockey.com.