The 2014-2015 Player Awards: Our Picks

By April 13, 2015Opinion

First, a hearty congratulations go to the Providence College Friars on winning their first national championship. They were the last team in at #16 and were the last team standing when the tournament is over.

The four contributors to have voted on our picks for player awards for the past season. We held off on posting this for a variety of reasons. This includes yours truly being on the shelf for a couple weeks sick, the Frozen Four tournament going on, and other BGSU noteworthy items that don’t need covered here.

Without further adieu let’s take a look at the winners of this year’s media awards:

Most Valuable Player

BGHcky_vs_NMU_31415-5227Very self explanatory. The player voted as the biggest contributor to the team’s successes of the past season. Congratulations to Brandon Hawkins on this honor. The freshman forward has a stat line of 16-14-30 and was named to the All-Rookie Team of the WCHA. His 16 goals led the conference’s freshman.

Also receiving votes: Tommy Burke and Matt Pohlkamp

Most Improved Player

BGHcky_vs_UAH_30615-4293This is the player judged to have shown the most improvement. The timeframe for the improvement is kept open-ended, so while some players are judged year-to-year, some were voted based on October to March. This year’s winner was senior defenseman Connor Kucera. Despite missing a chunk of games early in the season Kucera became a rock solid defenseman in his senior season in a position that isn’t always the most glamorous.

Also receiving votes: Matt Pohlkamp, Mark Friedman, Ben Murphy, Pierre-Luc Mercier

Rookie of the Year

BGHcky_vs_Miami-8979The player judged to be the best of the freshman class. This was tighter voting as the Falcon’s had contributions from a lot of the younger players. But, offensive production ended up being the name of the game and Brandon Hawkins was named our rookie of the year.

Also receiving votes: Mark Friedman, Mitchell McLain, Nolan Valleau

Defensive Player of the Year

BGhcky_vs_LSSU_12415-2942The player determined to be most proficient at preventing the puck from finding your net. Another close contest, but junior goaltender Tommy Burke picked up the most votes despite spending only 58% of the season in the crease. His play down the stretch, though, helped propel the Falcons into their second consecutive Final Five.

Also receiving votes: Sean Walker, Connor Kucera, Matt Pohlkamp

Media Choice/”Good Guy”/The “Gordo”

BGHcky_vs_Bemidji112114-0451Our most subjective award making it’s first appearance. This award is open ended and is meant to honor the player to be the most candid, professional, friendly, and an overall “good guy” to us media types. The inaugural winner of this very prestigious award is junior goaltender Tommy Burke. The veteran net minder was selected for his candidness after games, willingness to talk after rough outings, and his ability to help the media breakdown the game.

Also receiving votes: Dan DeSalvo, Ted Pletsch, Brandon Hawkins, Kevin Dufour, Ben Murphy.

There it is: your 2014-2015 Awards. We want to hear your thoughts though. Who’d we leave out? Did you think another player was as worthy for an award? Leave a comment below to voice your opinion.

Drew Evans

About Drew Evans

Drew is a co-founder and the editor for When he's not in the press box he makes (legal) drugs at a northwest Ohio compounding pharmacy. Drew is entering his eighth season covering Falcon hockey and has been a fan of the program since his time as a student beginning in 2003. He can be reached on Twitter @BGSUHockeySite and by e-mail at