Falcons Picked to Finish 2nd, 3rd; Baylis Recognized

By September 22, 2015Other News

On Monday the WCHA released the results of their preseason coach and media polls for the 2015-2016 season.

Coach’s Poll

RankingTeam (First Place Votes)Points
1Minnesota State (8)89
2Bowling Green (1)79
3Michigan Tech (1)78
4Bemidji State61
6Ferris State51
7Northern Michigan49
10Lake Superior22

Media Poll

RankingTeam (First Place Votes)Points
1Minnesota State (12)265
2Michigan Tech (9)263
3Bowling Green (8)250
4Bemidji State184
6Ferris State142
7Northern Michigan138
9Lake Superior54

Teams received 10 points for a first place vote, 9 points for a second place, etc.

Preseason Player of the Year

Coach’s: Tyler Morley, UAF Senior Forward (7 votes)

Also received votes: Bryce Gervais, sr. forward, Minnesota State (2); Alex Petan, sr. forward, Michigan Tech (1)

Media: Bryce Gervais, MSU Senior Forward (9)

Also received votes: Alex Petan, Sr., F, Michigan Tech (8 votes); Tyler Morley, Sr., F, Alaska (7); Jamie Phillips, Sr., G, Michigan Tech (1); Carmine Guerriero, Jr., G, Alabama-Huntsville (1); Brad McClure, So., F, Minnesota State (1).

Preseason Rookie of the Year

Coach’s: Corey Mackin, FSU Forward (6 votes)

Also received votes: Stephen Baylis, forward, Bowling Green (2); Max Coatta, forward, Minnesota State (1); Mitch Hults, forward, Lake Superior State.

Media: Stephen Baylis, BGSU Forward (5 votes)

Also received votes: Corey Mackin, Fr., F, Ferris State (4); Jake Jackson, Fr., F, Michigan Tech (2); Troy Loggins, Fr., F, Northern Michigan (2); Brett Boeing, Fr., F, Michigan Tech (1); Dillon Eichstadt, Fr., D, Bemidji State (1); Owen Headrick, Fr., D, Lake Superior State (1); Jetlan Houcher, Fr., F, Alabama-Huntsville (1); Nikolas Koberstein, Fr., D, Alaska (1); Jake Lucchini, Fr., F, Michigan Tech (1); Chandler Madry, Fr., F, Minnesota State (1); Jimmy Mullin, Sr. (Transfer), F, Minnesota State (1); Anthony Nellis, Fr., F, Lake Superior State (1); Chad Staley, Fr., F, Alaska (1).

Preseason Coach’s All-WCHA Team

ForwardTyler Morley (Senior)Alaska
ForwardBryce Gervais (Senior)Minnesota State
ForwardAlex Petan (Senior)Michigan Tech
DefensemanShane Hanna (Junior)Michigan Tech
DefensemanCasey Nelson (Junior)Minnesota State
GoaltenderJamie Phillips (Senior)Michigan Tech

Also received votes: Forwards—Brandon Hawkins, so., Bowling Green. Defensemen—Mark Friedman, so., Bowling Green; Brock Maschmeyer, jr., Northern Michigan. Goaltenders—Carmine Guerriero, jr., Alabama Huntsville; Olivier Mantha, so., Alaska Anchorage; Mathias Dahlstrom, jr., Northern Michigan; Michael Bitzer, so., Bemidji State.

Preseason Media All-WCHA Team

ForwardAlex Petan (Senior)Michigan Tech
ForwardBryce Gervais (Senior)Minnesota State
ForwardTyler Morley (Senior)Alaska
DefensemanCasey Nelson (Junior)Minnesota State
DefensemanShane Hanna (Junior)Michigan Tech
GoaltenderJamie Phillips (Senior)Michigan Tech

Also received votes: Goaltender — Michael Bitzer, So., Bemidji State; Carmine Guerriero, Jr., Alabama-Huntsville; Mathias Dahlstrom, Jr., Northern Michigan.
Defensemen — Mark Friedman, So., Bowling Green; Brock Maschmeyer, Jr., Northern Michigan; Matt Roy, So., Michigan Tech; Sean Walker, Jr., Bowling Green; Cliff Watson, Jr., Michigan Tech.
Forwards — Marcus Basara, Jr., Alaska; Teddy Blueger, Sr., Minnesota State; CJ Franklin, So., Minnesota State; Malcolm Gould, Sr., Michigan Tech; Brendan Harms, Jr., Bemidji State; Brandon Hawkins, So., Bowling Green; Brad McClure, So., Minnesota State; Max McHugh, So., Alabama Huntsville; Matt Robertson, Sr. Ferris State; Blake Tatchell, Sr., Alaska Anchorage

Media Poll Participants

Justin Bradford, Penalty Box Radio (102.5 FM Nashville); Michael Caples, Michigan Hockey Magazine; Bruce Cech, Alaska radio play-by-play; Brad Coccimiglio, SooToday.com; Dave Danis, Northern Michigan radio play-by-play; Chris Dilks, SB Nation College Hockey; Erik Drygas, Alaska radio color commentary; Drew Evans, BGSUHockey.com; Shane Frederick, Mankato Free Press; Patten Fuqua Penalty Box Radio (102.5 FM Nashville); Kevin Gordon, BGSUHockey.com; Jack Hittinger, The Bemidji Pioneer; Daver Karnosky, Houghton Daily Mining Gazette; Kevin Kurtt, Let’s Play Hockey Magazine; Geof Morris, UAHHockey.com; Michael Napier, UAHHockey.com; Tim O’Donnell, Fairbanks Daily News Miner; Justin Prince, Lakeland Public TV sports director; Rob Roos, Sault Ste. Marie Evening News; Jared Shafran, Ferris State radio play-by-play; George Sipple, Detroit Free Press; Ryan Steig, Marquette Daily Mining Journal; Mike Sullivan, Minnesota State radio play-by-play; Scott Theisen, WAFF-TV Huntsville; David Tuttle, Alaska-Anchorage radio play-by-play; John Wagner, Toledo Blade; Scott Williams, Lakeland Sports & KBUN Bemidji; Ryan Zuke, Big Rapids Pioneer.

Drew Evans

About Drew Evans

Drew is a co-founder and the editor for BGSUHockey.com. When he's not in the press box he makes (legal) drugs at a northwest Ohio compounding pharmacy. Drew is entering his eighth season covering Falcon hockey and has been a fan of the program since his time as a student beginning in 2003. He can be reached on Twitter @BGSUHockeySite and by e-mail at Drew@bgsuhockey.com.