McLain named first-team All-WCHA

By March 9, 2017 Other News
Bowling Green's Mitch McLain (6) makes a play against Bemidji State earlier this season in the Slater Family Ice Arena (Photo by Todd Pavlack/

Bowling Green’s Mitch McLain was a first-team selection on the All-Western Collegiate Hockey Association team announced Thursday afternoon.

The junior forward was joined by teammates Sean Walker and Mark Friedman on the all-league teams. Walker was a second-team defenseman, and Friedman was a third-team defenseman. Walker is a senior, while Friedman is a junior.

BG freshman defenseman Alec Rauhauser was named to the all-rookie team.  WCHA RELEASE

In league games only, McLain finished in a three-way tie for fourth in scoring with 24 points. He had 15 goals and nine assists in 27 games.

The other first-team forwards were Ferris State senior Gerald Mayhew and Minnesota State freshman Marc Michaelis.

Mayhew led the league with 30 points, and tied McLain for the lead in goals with 15. Michaelis had 13 goals and 15 assists for 28 points, second-most in the league.

McLain had an on-ice rating of +10, while Mayhew was +6 and Michaelis was +5.

Completing the first team were sophomore Daniel Brickley of Minnesota State and junior Matt Roy of Michigan Tech on defense, and junior Michael Bitzer of Bemidji State in goal.

Brickley was third in the league with 26 points, including a league-best 19 assists. Roy had five goals and 11 assists. Brickley was +10 and Roy was -1.

Walker was a repeat second-team selection, totaling six goals and eight assists in 28 games. He was a +8.

Bitzer started 27 of Bemidji’s 28 league games, posting a 1.40 goals-against average and a .940 save percentage. His record was 20-5-2.

The second-team forwards were junior C.J. Franklin of MSU, sophomore Mitch Hults of Lake Superior, Phillip Marinaccio of Bemidji and sophomore Corey Mackin of Ferris. Marinaccio and Mackin tied for the final forward spot.

The other defenseman was senior Shane Hanna of Tech, and the goalie was sophomore Atte Tolvanen of Northern Michigan.

Friedman, a first-team all-league selection as a sophomore, had four goals and 13 assists in 27 games. He was a +1.

Joining Friedman on the third-team defense was sophomore Kurt Gosselin of Alabama-Huntsville.

The third-team forwards were juniors Brad McClure of MSU and Gerry Fitzgerald of Bemidji, and senior Dominik Shine of NMU; and the goalie was freshman Justin Kapelmaster of Ferris.

Rauhauser totaled two goals and 14 assists, and was a +7 in 27 games.

Joining Rauhauser on the all-rookie team were forwards Michaelis, Darien Craighead of NMU and Max Humitz of Lake Superior; defensemen Ian Scheid of MSU, Mitch Reinke of Tech and Zach Whitecloud of Bemidji; and goalie Angus Redmond of Tech.

Rauhauser, Reinke and Whitecloud tied for the second spot on defense.

The teams were selected by a vote of league coaches.

The WCHA’s major award winners will be announced March 16.

Also Thursday, 13 Falcons were named to the league’s all-academic team. To be eligible, players must have completed one year of eligibility at their present school prior to the current academic year and have a grade-point average of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters. They also may qualify if their overall GPA is at least 3.0 for all terms at their present school.

Shane Bednard, Kevin Dufour, McLain, Joe McKeown, Pierre-Luc Mercier, Chris Pohlkamp, Matt Pohkamp, Jakob Reichert, John Schilling, Tomas Sholl, Adam Smith, Tyler Spezia and Sean Walker were BG’s honorees.

Dufour, Matt Pohlkamp and Sholl were named to the all-academic team for the third time. McLain, Mercier, Reichert, Spezia and Walker were recognized for the second time.

Kevin Gordon

About Kevin Gordon

Kevin joined after wrapping up a 27-year run as the Falcon hockey beat writer for the Sentinel-Tribune. After providing another two years of the Falcon hockey coverage fans had grown to love over the past three decades, Kevin decided to hang up his notebook and is now enjoying the retired life. Please join us by sending Kevin a tweet and thank him for all the time he's dedicated to BGSU hockey: @KGordonBG.